L091 in hiding for 6+ months

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Almonz
Location 1: United States
Location 2: Iowa

L091 in hiding for 6+ months

Post by Almonz »

This is my first time posting because I cannot find a definitive answer to my question anywhere else as info on this species is a little limited. About 6 or 7 months ago I picked up my (now) 6 inch Three Beacon Pleco, Crixus, and he currently resides in my 75 gallon community tank. There is a lot of hiding spaces and no fish are aggressive to him in it, however I rarely if ever see him. He loves to hide in a medium sized cave structure all day and only comes out very late at night. I have only seen him out during the day once and it was very brief, but at night he's very active and leaves huge sand mounds from him scrounging around for me to find the next day. I understand some Pleco are nocturnal, but I would like to see him more often as he is a very handsome fish. Any suggestions or similar experiences? I'd like to see him become more active if possible. Thanks in advance.

P.S. There are two large driftwood pieces in the tank as well that I find him on sometimes at night.
PlecosAndLoaches
My cats species list: 89 (i:79, k:0)
My aquaria list: 9 (i:4)
Location 2: West Michigan, US

Re: L091 in hiding for 6+ months

Post by PlecosAndLoaches »

Mine hides, too. I end up seeing its tail poking out of some crevice. Every so often I "mute" a flashlight and check on my tanks at night to see all the activity.

The reality is, most dark-bodied plecos with bright spots or fringe come from dark environments so they're much more comfortable coming out at night. Not sure there's much you can do about it. When do you feed your fish?
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 141
My cats species list: 144 (i:102, k:37)
My aquaria list: 40 (i:17)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2680)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 182
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton