I want to breed pleco's and got some questions

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
camdee
Location 1: Quebec
Location 2: Canada

I want to breed pleco's and got some questions

Post by camdee »

Hi,

I want to breed a fancy pleco's for my next project. I have been breeding dwarf crayfish and shrimp for a few years and want a new challenge.

I have a 55gallons that I can use for this.

I was thinking of L134, but got told to go for something more rewarding to start with.

I am really looking at L046, zebra pleco's, but have a few concerns, mainly waiting 2-3 years to have proper specimen that will breed, Am I right ? unless i pay big bucks for adult size one, if I can find them.

Do you have suggestions about less common but easy pleco's to start with.

Also, more of a general question, but a few years ago, I had a common pleco in a 29 gallons, that poop alot. Is it the same for fancy, smaller pleco ? In a 55gallons with 5-7 smaller pleco's will I have to constantly vaccuum and do water change ?

Last thing, is baretank better, or minimal sand is required or ?

Thanks In Advance
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 141
My cats species list: 144 (i:102, k:37)
My aquaria list: 40 (i:17)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2680)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 182
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: I want to breed pleco's and got some questions

Post by bekateen »

Hi camdee,

It's always fun to start breeding a new kind of fish, so I wish you good luck and success.
camdee wrote: 03 Sep 2018, 15:21I was thinking of L134, but got told to go for something more rewarding to start with.

I am really looking at L046, zebra pleco's...