Bachelor pad of zebras?

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Taratron
I've donated: $40.00!
My cats species list: 1 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Arizona, USA
Location 2: Phoenix, AZ
Interests: Fish, herps, the Discworld novels, Invader Zim, and entomology

Bachelor pad of zebras?

Post by Taratron »

Back in March or so, I picked up 3 L46 from a friend getting out of the hobby. Poor fish were kept with African cichlid fry, in an unheated tank. I was told there had been two pairs (friend got the zebras in a trade a few years prior and lost one during the move) so in theory I should have 2m, 1 f, or 2f, 1 m. For a while I only saw two zebras in caves and celebrated that I had males and a female.

But now I regularly see all three in caves. They seem to switch around who gets what cave though.

Do I have a bachelor pad of three males, or do I need to rearrange the tank, get more caves, etc? The tank is 20 gallons with lots of rockwork and about 6 caves.
But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I will be unique in all the world..... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.
~Antoine de Saint-Exupery
zebra1
My cats species list: 8 (i:0, k:0)
Location 2: Arizona

Re: Bachelor pad of zebras?

Post by zebra1 »

If you can post some photos I could give you my opinion of their sexes. There are a lot of members with a lot more experience than me that could help you. I am glad that you are in Phoenix. I am in Cottonwood. If you want to sell any of your L46's please let me know. I only have 1 zebra that is about 2" in size, sex unknown. lol Steve.
vanillarum
My cats species list: 12 (i:0, k:0)
Location 2: USA, Massachusetts
Interests: fish, Disney, golf, scuba diving

Re: Bachelor pad of zebras?

Post by vanillarum »